After the bifurcation of Darjeeling School Board, The Siliguri Primary School Council under the provision of West Bengal Primary Education Act 1973 as amended time to time came into existence in **30-06-1990** under Siliguri Educational District with the first Chairman, Professor Bikash Ghosh . Since then it has been committed to fostering academic excellence and holistic growth and has played a pivotal role in shaping the educational landscape of Siliguri. Presently there are 394 schools spread under 7 Circles.

The Council always emphasizes on rigorous inspection and supervision of educational activities to ensure the highest standards of teaching and learning. On the administrative front, the Council efficiently manages various crucial tasks that contribute to the smooth operation of the institution. This includes payment of teacher salaries, ensuring timely and accurate payments etc. which are essential to maintain a motivated and dedicated teaching staff.

Beyond these, The Council extends its influence by organizing school-level healthy competition among students through extra-curricular activities like *Yoga*, *sit* and *Draw*, *reading* and *recitation* competition etc. Additionally, the Council also takes the initiative to honour and appreciate retired teachers and staffs through meaningful felicitation ceremonies, acknowledging their contributions to the institution's growth and success.

The Siliguri Primary School Council took a commendable assignment during the COVID -19 period . Prior to the announcement of "Duare Pathsala" the Siliguri Primary School Council had already taken a proactive initiative of "Duare Bharti", i.e. door to door admission and "Duare Sikhalaya". Through their door-to-door admission initiative the Council had facilitated hype in the enrolment for students. Additionally, the Council had taken a major role in conducting "CCN Pathsala" under the collaboration with the local channel to maintaining educational continuity even during the challenging times of lockdown.

## The Key Persons of Siliguri Primary School Council at present are:

1/Sri Dilip Kumar Roy – Chairman

2/Sri Tarun Kumar Sarkar - Secretary (W.B.E.S.)

3/Sri Anuragh Tamang- Controller Of Finance( W.B.A & A.S.)

4/Smt. Binita Gazmer- Assistant Inspector of Schools

5/Sri Pulak Dutta- Head Clerk